457 Posts in 225 Topics by 67 members

Geometry

Forum » Geometry » What is the format of geometry files for 2d_land?

If this is your first visit, you will need to register before you can post. However, you can browse all messages below.

Moderators: Andy Juniper , Guy Maslen , Keleigh Jones

Page: 1 Go to End
Author Topic: What is the format of geometry files for 2d_land? 407 Views

What is the format of geometry files for 2d_land? Link to this post

I am a student at University of leeds and I am using Claritas as a part of my final year project. I do not have any SPS files so I need to create them from the beginning. I know that I need to create two main text files which contain the source and receiver information then convert them to SPS files. Unfortunately, I have a problem with the correct formate of the text files.
My main aim of the geometry is to convert the numbers of Geophons into distances. for example, first Geophone is at distance 0m and second geophone at distance 3m and so on.
my questions are:
Do I need to have SPS files in order to add the distance or there is another way?

What is the correct format for the text files before converting to SPS files?

Re: What is the format of geometry files for 2d_land? Link to this post

The GLOBE Claritas geometry application can read in a variety of input file formats:
•   SPS – three files: shot (*.s), receiver (*.r) and relational (*.x)
•   *.sur / *.obl – *.sur land shot-point and receiver point positions, *.obl land shot record positions and channel configuration
•   *.sht or *.str / *.txy – *.sht marine shot-point or navigation points, *.str marine streamer definitions, *.txy individual trace co-ordinate positions
Details on the required format of these files can be found in the ‘geometry : survey data definition and manipulation’ section of the manual (‘Browse manuals’ button on the ‘Help’ tab of the launcher):
•   The survey file (*.sur)
•   The observer’s log file (*.obl and *.obs)